- Program Schedule
- Support KJZZ
- Support Information
- KJZZ Membership
- Corporate Support
- Vehicle Donations
- Planned Giving
- Other Ways to Support
- Contest Details & Winners
- Inside KJZZ
- Contact KJZZ
- E-Member Login
By: Nadine Arroyo Rodriguez on 05/21/2012
For the first time in more than a decade, visitors can walk the grounds of one of Tempe’s oldest buildings. The fence around the historic Hayden Flour Mill is coming down and the open space around it will be open to the public. KJZZ’s Nadine Arroyo Rodriguez reports.
Hayden Flour Mill (Photo courtesy City of Tempe)
NADINE ARROYO RODRIGUEZ: It took a year to restore the Hayden Flour Mill. It now includes a museum, a stage for concerts and movies, and a grassy area for picnics. The mill and its silo is located on the busiest intersection in downtown Tempe -- at Rio Salado Parkway and Mill Avenue. It is one of the city’s oldest concrete structures. It first opened in 1874. It was twice destroyed by fire and shut down in the 1990s when the mill was fenced and abandoned. Tempe Mayor Hugh Hallman says the newly restored area will serve as an entry way into the downtown area.
HUGH HALLMAN: It will help stabilized Tempe’s downtown and Lake District economy. It will remind people that Tempe is truly an urban, vibrant, active, but authentic, historic destination that people can come to and enjoy
ARROYO RODRIGUEZ: The building itself will be kept closed, but visitors will be able to look through the mill’s windows and doorways. On display will be original equipment and materials used when the mill was operating.