KJZZ is a service of Rio Salado College, and Maricopa Community Colleges
Privacy Policy | FCC Public File | Contest Rules
Copyright © 2024 KJZZ/Rio Salado College/MCCCD
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Arizona Election Results: Arizona Senate

One race — District 28 — is still too close to call. The result of that election will determine whether the makeup of the Arizona Senate mirrors previous years.

Last session, Republicans had 17 seats and Democrats 13. As of Wednesday morning, Republicans have secured 16 and Democrats 13.

Voters mostly stuck with the status quo: Every incumbent, barring the still undecided District 28 race, easily held onto their seat and a number of candidates made the move from the House to the Senate.

District 1

Republican incumbent Karen Fann won with 70 percent of the vote. On Wednesday morning her future colleagues chose her as Senate President. Fann is only the second woman in Arizona history to serve in the role.

District 2

Democratic incumbent Andrea Dalessandro won with 58 percent of the vote.

District 3

Democrat Sally Ann Gonzales ran unopposed.  

District 4

Democratic incumbent Lisa Otondo ran unopposed.  

District 5

Republican incumbent Sonny Borrelli won with 75 percent of the vote and was elected majority whip during Wednesday morning's meeting of incoming House Republicans.

District 6

Republican incumbent Sylvia Tenney Allen won with 52 percent of the vote. She also won by thin margins in her last two elections, due to the growing liberal population in Flagstaff.

District 7

Democratic incumbent Jamescita Peshlakai won with 67 percent of the vote.

District 8

The district has more registered independents than Republicans or Democrats, and Republican incumbent Frank Pratt prevailed over Democrat Sharon Girard, a retired physician's assistant.The race focused on healthcare.

District 9

Democrat Victoria Steele won. She previously served in the Arizona House from 2012 to 2016 and made an unsuccessful bid for the U.S. House in 2016. 

District 10

Democratic incumbent David Bradley won with 57 percent of the vote.

District 11

Republican Venden Leach won with 56 percent of the vote.

District 12

Republican Eddie Farnsworth made the move from the House to Senate with 59 percent of the vote, even after an Arizona Republic investigation lead to a statewide conversation about ethics and oversight in the state charter school system.

District 13

Republican incumbent Sine Kerr secured 64 percent of the general election vote after beating out former state representative Don Shooter in the August primary.

District 14

Republican David Gowan formerly represented the district from 2009 to 2017 in the Arizona House, where he served as speaker of the House and majority leader.

District 15

61 percent of voters approved Republican Heather Carter's move from the House to the Senate.

District 16

Republican incumbent David Farnsworth won with 63 percent of the vote.

District 17

The race for district 17, which covers Chandler and parts of Gilbert focused on education. After 8 terms representing this district in the state House, Speaker J.D. Mesnard secured 53 percent of the vote over Democrat Steve Weichert, a hospital administrator.

District 18

Heading into the election, the district covering Ahwatukee and parts of Tempe and Chandler was the only swing district with a Democratic incumbent. Representative Sean Bowie held onto his seat with 55 percent of the vote, beating out Frank Schmuck who barely lost this same seat in 2016. Bowie is known as a moderate, and was one of 4 Democrats who voted in favor of the Governor's 20% by 2020 plan, which helped end the #RedForEd walkout. 

District 19

Democratic incumbent Lupe Contreras ran unopposed.  

District 20

The race to replace Republican Kimberly Yee, who is running for state treasurer after 6 years in the state Senate, went to Republican Paul Boyer, who has represented this district in the state House since 2012.

District 21

An Independent and Republican battled it out in District 21, and the Republican incumbent Rick Gray prevailed with 53 percent of the vote. Gray was appointed to the seat after Debbie Lesko stepped down to run for U.S. Congress and will serve as majority leader in the upcoming legislative session.

District 22

64 percent of voters approved Republican David Livingston's move from the House to the Senate.

District 23

Republican Michelle Ugenti-Rita made her move from the state House to Senate, with 58 percent voter approval.

District 24

70 percent of voters in Democrat Lela Alston's district supported her move from the state House to Senate.

District 25

Republican Tyler Pace won with 62 percent of the vote.

District 26

Democratic incumbent Juan Mendez won with 64 percent of the vote.

District 27

Democratic Rebecca Rios ran unopposed.  

District 28

The face off between  Republican incumbent Kate Brophy McGee and Democrat Christine Marsh is still too close to call. McGee is a well known moderate, but faced a touch challenge from Marsh, who was 2016 Arizona teacher of the year.

District 29

Democratic incumbent Martin Quezada ran unopposed.  

District 30

Democratic Otoniel Navarrete ran unopposed.  

Election Results

#ElectionDay In Arizona - Nov. 6, 2018

Claire Caulfield first joined KJZZ as an intern in 2015 and now wakes up before the sun to produce and report for Morning Edition. She graduated from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication in 2017 and covered education policy in the nation's capital, election night in New York City and Native American issues for Cronkite News/ Arizona PBS. Before joining the Morning Edition team, she also worked on a documentary about rap music in the deep South and directed a film on drinking-water quality in the United States.On the weekends, you can find Claire flying her photography drone or working her way through the Pulitzer Prize book list.