KJZZ is a service of Rio Salado College,
and Maricopa Community Colleges

Copyright © 2024 KJZZ/Rio Salado College/MCCCD
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Feds Extend Temporary Protected Status For El Salvador, Nicaragua, Haiti, Sudan

The federal government has announced that it is extending Temporary Protected Status for people from four countries until January 2020, which helps keep it in-line with a court order.

Under President Donald Trump, federal officials announced plans to end Temporary Protected Status for people from a handful of countries.

The decisions led to a lawsuit, and a federal judge blocked the government from ending the program for people from El Salvador, Nicaragua, Haiti and Sudan.

Cecilia Menjivar, a sociology professor at UCLA, studies Temporary Protected Status. She said the roughly 10-month extension leaves bigger questions unanswered.   

“What about the other groups who are not included in this extension?” Menjivar said. “And, even more importantly, what about the long-term?”

Temporary Protected Status generally lasts for 12 to 18-month periods. Near the end, the government decides whether to extend the program, or ask people to leave the United States.

Matthew Casey has won Edward R. Murrow awards for hard news and sports reporting since he joined KJZZ as a senior field correspondent in 2015.