KJZZ is a service of Rio Salado College,
and Maricopa Community Colleges

Copyright © 2024 KJZZ/Rio Salado College/MCCCD
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Tuesday’s Special Election For Phoenix Mayor, City Council

voting sign
Mariana Dale/KJZZ
A voting sign outside a voting center during the 2019 Phoenix special election on March 12, 2019.

A special election is taking place Tuesday in Phoenix. Voters will choose a new mayor and possibly two new Phoenix City council members.

The runoff election for mayor is between Kate Gallego and Daniel Valenzuela. The winner will serve the remainder of former Mayor Greg Stanton’s term that expires April 19, 2021.

Both mayoral candidates resigned as councilmembers to run for mayor and voters are also being asked to fill their former council seats.

Four candidates are on the ballot in District 5 which includes most of west Phoenix and seven are on the ballot in District 8 which includes part of downtown, south Phoenix and Laveen.

If no council candidate gets more than 50 percent of the vote a runoff election between the top two vote getters will take place in May.

Voting centers are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters who completed but did not mail early ballots can drop them off at city voting centers.

As a senior field correspondent, Christina Estes focuses on stories that impact our economy, your wallet and public policy.