KJZZ is a service of Rio Salado College, and Maricopa Community Colleges
Privacy Policy | FCC Public File | Contest Rules
Copyright © 2024 KJZZ/Rio Salado College/MCCCD
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Mark Kelly, Kyrsten Sinema are among 25 Americans sanctioned by Russia

Russia has fired the latest volley in a diplomatic back-and-forth with the U.S. imposing personal sanctions on 25 more Americans on Monday.

Among those on the list are actors Ben Stiller, Sean Penn and Arizona’s own senators. Sens. Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema were included on the growing list of Americans singled out by Moscow.

The sanctions come in response to America’s own against Russia stemming from the conflict in Ukraine. 

Others on the list include the U.S. Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo, Florida Sen. Rick Scott, and South Dakota Sen. Mike Rounds.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said the group, which includes government officials, academics and business leaders, would be banned permanently from entering the country 

Those sanctioned have been outspoken critics of the Russian invasion of Ukraine. 

Greg Hahne started as a news intern at KJZZ in 2020 and returned as a field correspondent in 2021. He learned his love for radio by joining Arizona State University's Blaze Radio, where he worked on the production team.