KJZZ is a service of Rio Salado College,
and Maricopa Community Colleges

Copyright © 2024 KJZZ/Rio Salado College/MCCCD
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Navajo Nation president issues fire restrictions

land on the navajo nation
Carrie Jung/KJZZ
The Navajo Nation is in the Four Corners region of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah.

Fire restrictions across the Navajo Nation have been issued by President Buu Nygren through an executive order.

Nygren implemented the Stage 1 restrictions indefinitely, citing a convergence of high temperatures, lack of rain and windy conditions.

While the executive order is in place, the possession, manufacturing, sale or use of fireworks is prohibited on all Navajo lands. Using open fires and a firearm is also prohibited.

Nygren called these restrictions necessary to protect human life, property, livestock and natural resources. He also cited ongoing wildfires in Arizona and New Mexico on the tribe’s borders.

More than 32,000 acres of Arizona land have burned since the beginning of 2024.

Nick Karmia has always been a storyteller. Originally from the Chicagoland area, he transferred from community college to pursue a bachelor's degree in journalism at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.